Refinement

Creating this comic has been an amazing journey. I have realized that it takes time and work to hew a diamond out of the many rock-shaped ideas that can fill our minds.

This week, I’d like you to share your feedback on another character concept sketch. I am continuously trying to refine the costume design to some unknown point of satisfaction. There is somewhere I am trying to get the design to that I just have not reached, yet. That goes for the writing, as well. However, I must say that I LOVE the process. It has taught me that I was born to write and create stories.

With that, I’d like you to have a look at this sketch and let me know what you think. Either that or just enjoy it.

And before I forget: Have a Merry Christmas 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork

6 Comments on “Refinement”

  1. Elliott Mckenney Says:

    Sir. Ever since you decided to come to Rev Culture and show us your work I’ve loved it. Your an amazing artist. Just so you know.

  2. Mel Rivera Says:

    Looks good would like to see a cleaned up version

  3. RojAvon Says:

    I think the design is solid but I’d mention these two thoughts:

    The star motif on the chest and facemask seem a little too much like Marvel’s Captain Marvel logo. Find a way to make that emblem your own more definitively.

    Secondly, while I think the design is solid it doesn’t really set itself apart from other high tech armored characters. Your challenge is going to be finding a way to visually make this character into something that really sets itself apart from others.

    How can the character be expressive, yet be armored? Can the armor be damaged and if so how does it look if it has been damaged…how does it function. Does it have functionality still? What powers it and what does that look like. How does it sound when he moves? How does it sound when the character is still. Can you hear the power…the potential? Is the movement graceful or somewhat stiff. Would power or grace best characterize the movement.

    I guess what I’m getting at is: I’d like to see some aspects of the armor that raise questions in my mind about the character and his abilities. You know, when I look at Stormtrooper armor for example I see a lot of details that make me wonder…what’s in that belt? What’s that canister for? Why is the helmet that shape?

    So, while I like the basic design I’d like to see more intriguing details and more things that suggest questions about the character visually.

    • devinwsmith Says:

      This is excellent feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to speak your mind. I am definitely looking for more feedback like this and will absolutely consider this as I’m concepting.

      -Devin


Leave a Reply

